Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Zaino kit came in yesterday and today is such a nice sunny day for a car wash in San Diego. I wanna get started on the zaino. Any tips you guys and gals wanna share before i start the process? Sorry but I am a Zaino newb, so anything would help... thanks!

oh yah, is it okay if i use palmolive instead of dawn?

·
Premium Member
1,540 Posts
I guess palmolive is OK. It doesn't have hand lotion in it? You just want to take off any oils or old wax. I think Zaino 1 will remove anything left from the wash. Do you have the accelerator? Let a it dry before buffing. I let 2-3 hrs with no accelerator. Less humid the better. I think Speedgal put on several coats. Have fun.

·
Registered
979 Posts
Yes I have many coats, do not wash the car in the sun, best to wait till it is cool and shady. Thoroughly dry it with one of those absorber cloths, no water spots or streaks or they will stay there under your wax. Palmolive is ok as long as there is no anti bacterial/hand lotion shit in it I used ajax dish detergrnet. I had the accelerator, so after i put on one coat I let it sit for bout 45 min before buffing it off then I sprayed it with the gloss enhancer in small sections before I put on a new coat. Wax, gloss, wax, gloss, wax and so on........ best to do it away from trees as well so pollen does not fall on it. It is a long process, I have 4 coats and want at least 8 more before the summer is out..... After you zaino it NEVER use any other car wash liquid except the zaino wash or it wil be ruined, DO NOT use the quick dry arm and hammer thing either ALWAYS wash with zaino's soap. Any ?'s shoot me a pm...

·
Registered
606 Posts
I just Zaino'ed my car yesterday! It took awhile, but, as with all things that are worth it, the results are stunning!