Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What gets you further easier and effectively.

An ATP bolt on 3071R turbo kit. And leave other parts stock just have a K&N and catless downpipe.

Or start stacking up bolt on mods but retain the stock K04.

I fell like its just too easy to bolt on a bigger turbo, have cooler air and more power just from the turbo, then chipping away at the bottle necks to make the small K04 better.......

Im not sure there is a mail order tune for any of the above thats a separate entity. But the easy way would be skipping tuning. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
74 Posts
Im relatively new to these cars but from what i learned...if you are swapping the turbo there are so must have's

1. SRI/CAI -- this is a must even with the stock turbo
2. Larger/higher efficiency inter cooler
3. Test-Pipe
4. Oil Change --> Full Synthetic
5. Trans Fluid Change --> redline possibly
6. Rear Engine Mount Upgrade

Anyone else care to add something or correct me if your wrong

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
Start with bolt-ons.

SRI/CAI, FMIC, BPV, turbo-inlet pipe, downpipe, exhaust and THEN get it tuned. Either way, to get the best bang for your buck, tuning is essential, especially with a bigger turbo.

Also, I'd suggest you do the following before the performance mods so things don't start breaking:

SPC Balljoints and custom alignment
Rear diff mods (there are two mounts for the rear)
Motor mounts

I'm sure there are some more experienced modders on here that have a bit better insight.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4