Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For a speed6 to be able to take a late 90's camaro ss w/ basic bolt ons in the quarter mile?

most sites i've seen rate the camaro ss at around 13.9 in the quarter mile and my C&D mag says 14 even for a speed6

Now the camaro may also have boltons, but i don't think it get's nearly the same gains as a speed6 does from boltons.

So what do you think? camaro w/ basic intake and exhaust type upgrades Vs Speed6 W/ CAI, Exhaust and possibly a downpipe?

(I ask because i'll be getting a speed6 soon and my friend with a camaro ss is already talking about how it's just a pansy little 2.3 liter regardless of turbo and since he's a stupid muscle car kid that doesn't understand how much a speed6 would demolish his little camaro on a road course, beating him(or at least coming close) up at bandimere's drag strip is basically the only real way to shut him up.)

·
Registered
744 Posts
im not an expert in camaros but i believe basic bolt ons would give more gains for a ms6. the only thing is there are more out there right now for the camaro. If you could say two bolt ons for each car i believe youd gain more with the mazda.

·
Registered
270 Posts
my stock 02 Z28 ran 13.5's and some have run faster than that. if it's an auto he'd be smart to put in a 4k stall. with just a stall it's very possible to break into the 12's. normal bolt ons will yield similar times. without a good tune, I don't see the speed hanging with an LS1 car. dollar for dollar in bolt ons, I'm betting on the camaro.

and i wouldn't completely discount a well driven f-body on a road course. In fact the scca classifies the camaro SS as AS and the speed6 as DS.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I don't know if this makes much difference but i found out it's a 1996, so maybe the specific year will help you make your decision.