Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
while changing my oil i noticed a little leak developing from in between the transmission and engine, more specifically the oil pan, as that is what bolts to the transmission. anyways i wiped it down to see if and where it was coming from. or if it was a leak at all. well about 500-600miles later(today) i decided to check it. while it was not a lot, and had yet to drip onto the under bonnett thing it's still enough to bother me as this car has 8700 miles on it and should not be doing this, now if the mileage was higher, you could pass it off as minor seepage.

Upon closer inspection today it looks as if it could possibly be coming from the oil pan gasket, i'm not a 100% sure as even though I am a certified mechanic why bother when i still have warrenty. but what bothers me is the off chance that it might be the main bearing seal leaking. which i hope it isn't.

anyways, anyone else experiencing the same problem?

·
Registered
431 Posts
while changing my oil i noticed a little leak developing from in between the transmission and engine, more specifically the oil pan, as that is what bolts to the transmission. anyways i wiped it down to see if and where it was coming from. or if it was a leak at all. well about 500-600miles later(today) i decided to check it. while it was not a lot, and had yet to drip onto the under bonnett thing it's still enough to bother me as this car has 8700 miles on it and should not be doing this, now if the mileage was higher, you could pass it off as minor seepage.

Upon closer inspection today it looks as if it could possibly be coming from the oil pan gasket, i'm not a 100% sure as even though I am a certified mechanic why bother when i still have warrenty. but what bothers me is the off chance that it might be the main bearing seal leaking. which i hope it isn't.

anyways, anyone else experiencing the same problem?
[/b]