Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased my 2006 Mazda 6 S with the MazdaSpeed Cat back exhaust system installed by the dealer. I noticed a vibration/buz coming from the dash or right side door at certains rpm's ranging from about 1500 up to about 2000 depending on speed and gear. Usually ocurrs at lower speeds. It seems to be related to the exhaust, but I have no knowledge of the stock set up on my car so I can't blame it entirely on the MazdaSpeed exhaust system. Have any of you experienced this same type problem, maybe with other aftermarket exhaust sytems? Or is it just poor build quality of my particular vehicle? It can be very distracting especially considering I have only 800 miles on my car. I'm beginning to think I made a mistake buying the MazdaSpeed Exhaust and should have gone with something else like a Borla etc. I was trying to eliminate any warranty issues with a factory approved part. The manual transmission may be a better choice as well vs the auto.
-PHS

·
Premium Member
4,053 Posts
Is it because the exhaust is hitting something? Like bumper lip or something like that?

You might want to replace the exhaust hanger with kartboy to reduce the vibration and movement of the exhaust.

·
Registered
234 Posts
I have a 2005 6i and actually have the magnaflow catback and get a rattle as well. I have linked it back to the sunglass holder rattling because of the exhaust, I don't know why it does it but its def. because of the exhaust, my entire car shakes a tad bit because of the exhaust, nothing bad just noticeable at idle.

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
It has take me three trips to my local muffler shop to chase rattles. I've got the MagnaFlow catbacks and the rattles were on the passenger side as well.

On my first visit back, the Y pipe was touching the bottom of the car which caused the vibration to travel all the way up to the passenger door.