Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How much difference is there really between 4 and 6 cylinders in general? I've been driving a Camry V6 for the last five years, and I'd hate to give up anything in a shift to 4-cyl.

Driving around town (say, under 50mph) does the 4-cyl have to work harder while the V6 just gets up to speed easier? And at highway speeds, does the 4-cyl have enough oomph to pass? Say, from 60 to 80mph?

Specifically, I guess I'm comparing the 6s to the new Acura TSX, which only comes with a 4-cyl. It's a bit like the RSX-S, but a slightly bigger engine for 24ft-lbs more torque.

Also, both my previous cars have been automatics, but my next car will be a manual. :)

According to Edmunds.com, etc:

2003 Mazda 6s [potential car #1]
V6 3.0L
220hp (6300rpm)
192ft-lbs (5000rpm)

2004 Acura TSX [potential car #2]
I4 2.4L
200hp (6800rpm)
166ft-lbs (4500rpm)

1994 Toyota Camry V6 XLE [my current car]
V6 3.0L
188hp (5200rpm)
203ft-lbs (4400rpm)

1988 Honda Prelude 2.0 S [my first car]
I4 2.0L
105hp (5800rpm)
111ft-lbs (4000rpm)

·
Registered
262 Posts
Reading Topic: V6 vs 4-cyl?

I'm sure someone on this board can provide a more "technical" answer to your question, but here are some differences that I believe in:

A V6 engine is smoother than a 4 cylinder.

You have to rev the rpms higher in 4-cyl engines to accelerate them quickly.

A V6 engine normally has better high-end torque than a 4-cyl, making it easier to pass and accelerate from rolling starts.

A V6 is heavier than a 4-cyl by a few hundred pounds.

·
Registered
543 Posts

All's I know is, when I test drove the 4-cyl Automatic I was able to zip around just fine, and pass on the highway just fine. I'm used to my old '91 MX-6, which is a 4-cyl, but I don't know how many hp, etc. in it.

And I'm not willing to pay ~$2000 more just to get a bigger engine that I really don't need. :)

·
Registered
3,126 Posts