Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
well guys calling in reinforcements. I was installing my turbo inlet and intake the other day. So then i decided to check the turbo for axial play. To me and all the other technicians at work there is quite a bit of play. It almost appears to us that the turbine wheel was rubbing the compressor housing. I even went and felt the shaft play on a turbo of a mini cooper. very minimal on that one... So i stocked out and took it to the dealer.

The service advisor knows im a bmw master technician. I told him id hear a rattling rotating type noise. And all they would have to do is pull the inlet off the turbo and feel the shaft play.. well he just called me. said theyll fix my oil leak. but as far as the turbo goes. they dont think its making any noise or that the shaft play is bad. But they have put in all thier info to the techline for replacement and havent heard anything back yet.

so its not looking good for me.

fordza i know ur a guru, wouldnt happen to have some kind of spec for axial play on the turbo shaft would ya? or anybody know for that matter?

unlesss a mazda k04 is something different than other turbos there shouldnt really be any play at all in the shaft.

to sum it up. i say my turbo is bad they say prolly not and wait for authorization or not. Any ideas guys? thanks for the help

EDIT: i guess i mean radial play, movings the shaft left and right towards the compressor housing.

·
Registered
2,746 Posts
Yeah, the turbo CHRA is a "plain-bearing" type that rides on a cushion of oil when operating. With the engine off (no oil pressure) the turbo shaft WILL and MUST have what seems like a lot of play. Truely if the compressor wheel isn't touching the housing in operation, it is "fine".

If it was a ball-bearing CHRA, then ANY play is "bad" as it rides on the rolling bearings...

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #4