Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how many of the speed 6's transmissions have been lemons? cuz i've read of a few people who had their clutches and tranny's replaced really early.

also, i'm new to manual, and how should i say....i stall a lot.

does that affect my tranny?

·
Registered
1,479 Posts

[/b]
Just remember, practice will make you better. Here's a simple method I use when I get back on a Manual all the time:

Clutch in, shift into gear, release clutch slowly, gas n go.

As far as stalling, that takes practice to do, I'm more than sure you don't even need to press the gas oh so much to have a rolling start either. Stalling isn't as bad as misshifting so don't feel like it affects your tranny entirely, but yes it will affect it in some sort of way.

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, i mostly stall because i have this annoying habit of gassing it to much. guess thats what happens when you drive a old car and move to a new sports car.

·
Registered
2,044 Posts
how many of the speed 6's transmissions have been lemons? cuz i've read of a few people who had their clutches and tranny's replaced really early.

[/b]
i can only remember two bad trannys, but there may be more. so far as clutches going: they wear out. they wear out very quickly when driven improperly. the manufacturer claims the part will last at least 200k under proper driving conditions. now once you put a human in the loop that 200k begins to drop. now how much it drops depends on how it's driven.