Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here and just got my 6 this January. Its a used 6 with ~18'000 miles on it initially.

Been driving it happily for almost 8 months and a few weeks back, when the weather started to get colder, my tranny decided to gimme a punch in the back in the morning when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. Once the tranny warms up, then everything is fine.

I tried warming the car up for about 5 minutes but no use. I checked the ATF and its fine, not very pink, but fine.

Going to send the car to the dealer to check it up (still under warranty) but just wanted to see if anybody has seen this issue before and what could be causing it ?

Thanks for any inputs, Zhi

·
Registered
391 Posts
I have this same problem on my 05 6i, it only does it for me when the tranny is pretty cold. Usually I drive in manual mode, and shift under 2k rpm's for a couple minutes, and by then the tranny has warmed up some to make the smoother shifts.

Remember though, that I think the tranny doesn't warm up until you actually use it, so letting the car idle probablly wouldn't do anything until you start moving the wheels :)

I haven't found a remedy for this though, if someone knows one then I'd like to hear as well :)

it would be interesting to hear what mazda has to say about it.

·
Registered
347 Posts
i had teh exact same problem, took it to mazda they hooked it up to a computer, updated my software, and i dont have it anymore. realitivly quick fix

·
Registered
128 Posts
Its Shift Shock. Its been a known problem in the 6 for years. The reflashes sometimes seem to help some people but there isn't really a sure fix for it. If you let the car warm up and shift back and forth using manumatic, it seems to help a bit. I usually switch to second gear in manumatic at a stop and try not to use 1st for a minute or 2 (only on really cold days)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8