Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a set of RX8 wheels for our Speed6 and am looking for some recomendations when it comes to tires. These will be summer only wheels so summer only rubber. I am thinking 225-45-18 or 235-40-18 for size but prefer not to roll the fenders (car is at stock ride height). Also not looking for "race" rubber, treadwear rating around 300 prefered. I have a couple in mind but would like to get some input from the guys around here since I am a bit new to these cars.

Thanks,
Bryan Miller

·
Risickulous
4,862 Posts
235/40 you shouldn't have to roll with that size of tires on those particular rims. Personally, I would recommend the slightest of roll in the rear and 245/40 on those rims. If you are looking for specific tire recs, I've been so amazed with the Sumitomo HTR ZIII I'll be using them for a long time. Don't forget to complement your new rubber and rims with a suspension correction for the factory faults. A set of SPC++ balljoints up front and a full alignment fix.

·
Registered
493 Posts
235/40/18 profile is just a hint too low and doesn't quite fill the wheel well at stock height. This is my impression after getting Sumitomo HTR ZIII's. No chance of rubbing. 225/45 might look better. Looks aside, HTR ZIII's mounted on RX-8's handle much better than the stock bridgestone 215/45's.

·
Risickulous
4,862 Posts
Filling the wheel well isn't the idea when selecting the proper tires for your car. That's for big ass trucks. Staying in spec, which both sizes do while the 235 offers more meat on the road is the goal. If you don't like the stance of the car, lower it. 225/40 is the one that is too small for the speed, but people still run it.

·
Registered
875 Posts
235/40/18 !

Extreme Summers Dunlop Direzza Star Spec Z1

Those tires suck in cold. OK in rain. Fucking awesome in 40*F+ dry (warmed up).