Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
This may be of interest ...im not a oil expert by any means but I do recall reading that the wider the viscosity range, the less quality the oil. Something about the extra additives required to widen the range, so if faced with a choice, i tend to stick with the closer range. In this case 0-20 having a range of 20 and 5-30 having a range of 25.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Maybe it does run smoother, I just find this hard to believe based on my own experience.

I've seen engines run with no oil at all on 2 separate occasions. One was my car, a turbo buick 3.8 motor that burned oil and needed to be topped off regularly. During one such top off, it took 5 quarts. That's the entire capacity of this motor, so it had nothing in it other than residual. Ran perfectly smooth before, during and after its time with no oil.

The second time was when i worked at a service station and a taxi came in with a low oil light on. I added 1 quart, checked dipstick....still showed nothing. I repeated this for 5 full quarts before I looked underneath the car to see all the oil on the concrete, as his oil pan drain plug had fallen out.

Put new plug in, filled it up, and off he went. Ran perfect

food for thought

·
Registered
391 Posts
I'm confused at how this has anything to do w/ Royal Purple oil & why you think its bad for an engine.
I'm confused as to why you think that I think RP is bad for an engine? My comment was in regards to your engine running "smoother" on RP. i don't think differences in "smoothness" can be attributed to a brand of oil, and gave examples of engines running smooth with no oil at all.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Why did I get email notification of the post above as if it was posted on 7-14-2017?

Things that make you go hmmmmm?