Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the 1st gen 6 and would like to know how far does your temp needle go. Mine is an 06 V6 and it goes to about 3/4 the way up then stops there. It still in the "normal" range of course but just would like to this is the same for any other cars out there.

I'm also having an issue with my fuel gauge. It started out fine but now when I fill up it only shows about 3/4 full. Then I take it all the way down to the E and the idiot light doesn't come on. I really think its the float in the tank is messed up because when i'm on E and I fill up it only holds 14 gallons not 18. Anyone ever had an issue with this?

Thanks
Jacob

·
Super Moderator
16,842 Posts
The temp gauge can be different in each car - how hot is your engine actually getting? The V6 has a very warm engine bay as it is, but is it VERY VERY warm or feel pretty normal? Are your coolant levels staying the same?

As for the gas tank, although it claims to hold 18 gal, you'll NEVER get that many in it. The most I ever got was about 15.

·
100% CANUCK
7,600 Posts
My needle doesnt go above 1/2.

There may be an issue with the sending unit in regards to it not going above 3/4 full. The idiot light might not be getting triggered due to readings being out. Have you had the gauge read right on E basically? Mine comes on at around 1/8 tank or just a little less than that.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
I have added a mechanical gauge in my car. The factory gauge normally points just over 1/2 way while the actual temperature reads just over 190deg.

CR

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok thanks. I'll probably take a look at the sending unit and maybe just replace everything. As far as the temp, I'll have to look into it more. There is just something comforting about that temp needle being at the half way mark.

·
Registered
2,660 Posts