Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Couple of issues, would like more rubber on the road, so dropping a series and going 10mm wider SHOULD fit on our stock rims. Question, will it affect the GPS/Nav system? I know it uses gyros and wheel speed input in addition to the GPS signal. Would this cause problems? I'm not an expert, but I believe this would give a different rotational circumfrence. It's caused speedo problems in previous vehicles I've owned with speedo accuracy. How bad would it F with the nav system? I'd like to do this before I go to Texas World Speedway in December for the Porsche club event, 215's just seem too skinny for the track! I'm considering these:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...yes&place=8

Anyone done this and what is the end result???

·
Registered
391 Posts
Couple of issues, would like more rubber on the road, so dropping a series and going 10mm wider SHOULD fit on our stock rims. Question, will it affect the GPS/Nav system? I know it uses gyros and wheel speed input in addition to the GPS signal. Would this cause problems? I'm not an expert, but I believe this would give a different rotational circumfrence. It's caused speedo problems in previous vehicles I've owned with speedo accuracy. How bad would it F with the nav system? I'd like to do this before I go to Texas World Speedway in December for the Porsche club event, 215's just seem too skinny for the track! I'm considering these:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...yes&place=8

Anyone done this and what is the end result???
[/b]
WHAT?? Who told you that, man? The only thing using wheel speed sensors on this car is the ABS; that nav system is bought out on a contract; I bet you it doesn't even interface the ECU at all.

Anyway there's no reason it should need wheel speed information. It can detect a velocity from the GPS information alone.

·
Registered
679 Posts