Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am noticing a strong smell from my AC when I turn it on. The smells goes away after about a minute. It smells kind of chemical in nature, but I cannot distinguish what it is. I have replaced the cabin air filter, so I know this is not the cause. I have been smelling it for about 2000 miles, just shortly after I bought it. What could be causing this and how can it be fixed?

2003 Mazda 6 S
43,000 miles

·
Premium Member
7,221 Posts
Well how to fix it would depend on what it is. Is there any way for you to narrow down the type of chemical perhaps? Are you sure its not just a mildew-like smell? Thats very common in areas where the AC is used a lot and the humidity is high... though I don't know the weather in ND very well. If its not mildew, then its likely to be some kind of leak, such as your coolant. Something like this you can monitor by consistently checking the levels of your fluids and making sure none are leaking out.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Is it an ashy smell? Sort of like cigarettes, but not quite.

·
Registered
434 Posts
yeh i think i get that smell too, it happens when i use the ac shut off the car to go buy stuff/meet ppl/watever, come back turn on the ac and arghhh that smell again.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Mine would smell like dirty socks... or like a mildew smell.

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
ah, you guys are experiencing something some what common.
it is likely that mildew is growing inside your ac vents, this is a known issue with many ac systems.

problem is moisture inside the ac collects and eventually mold grows. i had a bit of it on my old car too, and so did my sisters civic.

you should be able to find something like this at your auto store:
http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Conditioner-Tre...t/dp/B0006FMF7K

Key is to get rid of the mold... which means running your ac with the circulation pulling fresh air in.

http://www.canadiandriver.com/articles/jk/060614.htm