Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2005 6i ATX...with the airbox mod+K&N filter...and its come time that I'm looking for more power...(looking to beat some Scion T.C.'s, arch nemesis of the 6i...legitly of course)...I'm going to be getting headers, either the GTSPEC ones or the F2 Headers if they come out about the time I'm planning to get the parts, plus a new mid pipe. trouble is, I'm wondering if thats enough to take the T.C. to town. So I'm thinking "that airbox mod isn't gonna cut it anymore, I need a real intake" but I don't want to drop 600 for the CP-E...option 2 is, get one of the big three (AEM, Injen, or K&N) and get a scanner...thing is, I've never used one before so I wouldn't even know where to stick it....I need an idiot proof scanner.

I'm looking at these AutoXray scanners and the two cheapest ones that I've seen are

Auto X-Ray Code Scout 1500 for about $130+ and the AutoXray Code Scout 700
Diagnostic Code Scanner for OBDII for about $77...now will these two be able to effectively locate check engine code and problems and eliminate/reset them...(I assume the instructions will tell me how, so I won't bother asking about operations, but where, in general do you hook these up?) also, will I be constanly having to reset check engine lights like every 5-10 miles?...is this an effective alternative to the CP-E (thats horribly priced gouged) are these considered good scanners, if not what is, remember these words "easy to use" and "idiot proof". also, will I need to know all the codes to know what the numbers the scanner is spewing out mean? I think there's a thread about that around here. Here's to making power :cheers: (P.S.: will the the 03-04 AEM and Injen kits work on an '05?)

·
Premium Member
9,080 Posts
intakes should all work for 03-05, though the connector on the intake pipe has changed, so some extra tube/parts might need to be had from you local parts store (like $5 if that).