Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive looked through threads about the fusion swap into the 6 (eg. http://forum.mazda6club.com/3-0l-v6/244189-mazda-6-v6-vs-fusion-v6-they-100-same.html ). I know that it can be done but havent found a 06 fusion to 03 6 swap information listing.

My question is this:

I know the differences between 03 mazda and 06 fusion are greater than other years so, What exactly needs to be changed over for the 06 fusion 3.0 duratec to swap into an 03 mazda 6s v6? My main concers are sensors, the main harness etc, and if the existing smog equipment will bolt up or if i need to source fusion parts. I have a ford master mechanic who will help me get everything installed.

Im not too worried about smog, i just need it to pass the referee, I have a smog check place i can get any car "smogged" at. As far as i can tell i know it is legal to do the swap just need the ref to sign off on it after.

So if anyone out there can help me out with the info i need it would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
206 Posts
The swap should actually be legal, since it's the same sized engine going into the car + it is an equivalent replacement. Most smog place won't even know you swapped it.

Any who, it will look like you'll have to swap a few parts. Like possibly oil pan, pickup, valve covers (unless you like the look), harness and maybe others.

Just get the full engine.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the replies, im not sure if ill be replacing the entire engine or if I will just have to rebuild the bottom end. Hopefully its just the bottom end which i know i can get from a MPV, tribute, Taurus, escape etc. I just want to make sure I have as much info as possible going into this before i get started.

·
banana boat.
6,987 Posts
Parts needed to be swap from 6 to fusion.

Oil Pan and oil pick up
Timing cover
Lower intake manifold, Intake manifold.
Valve covers if you chose.
Oil sensor