Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just about to order brake pads for my 2013 Mazda 6 wagon as they are all worn out. There is no wear indication on the dashboard though, and that got me thinking.

I would be happy with pads that only have acoustic wear indicators, but will I run into problems if I install these, i.e. will the electronic wear indicator potentially start alerting me? Moreover - I am by no means a mechanic by profession, but the operation (judging by Youtube) seems pretty straight forward - are there some common and known problems and pitfalls to take into consideration?

I will be selling the car within short, so I would rather not overspend on expensive pads...

·
Registered
2,879 Posts
If there's a sensor it is typically a wire embedded in the pad material that is broken when the pad reaches the wear limit. Thus, if you replace with a pad that doesn't have it, the vehicle end plug will be open and the light will be on the dash. You could cut the connector off the old pad and short the wires in it, which would prevent the light from coming on, then wire-tie or otherwise secure it out of the way.