Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The one thing I hate most about my 6's interior is how cheep the center consol looks. I would like to replace it but don't want to have to use some stupid "Aluminum" dash kit consisting of a bunch of stickers. Is there a dash replacement made of aluminum? I know some higher end cars come with some aluminum panels standard(my dad's lexus rx400h has a aluminum plastic mix that looks pretty sweet). Can someone please shed some light on this?

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
i dont think they have anything out there but the stickers but i am not an expert.

·
Registered
405 Posts
The one thing I hate most about my 6's interior is how cheep the center consol looks. I would like to replace it but don't want to have to use some stupid "Aluminum" dash kit consisting of a bunch of stickers. Is there a dash replacement made of aluminum? I know some higher end cars come with some aluminum panels standard(my dad's lexus rx400h has a aluminum plastic mix that looks pretty sweet). Can someone please shed some light on this?
[/b]

As a temp fix, you could pull it off, and repaint it however you want it until they actually come out with something you like.

·
Registered
410 Posts
The answer is no. I've been looking. There are 'real brushed aluminum' dash kits that do consist of 'stickers'. Thats the way I will probably go, since the quality is very nice.

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
My sister has real aluminum on her dash and recently got a little dent on it. At least the silver stock plastic won't dent.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Even the most expensive kits I've seen (rip-off) are still adhesive-based aluminum accents. Brushed aluminum sure sounds nice, though, even in adhesive form. I mean, any accent to a car's interior is usually glued there anyway. Don't even get me started on wood-grain, because I saw some nasty, worn-out wood-grain accents on a BMW. I'm sure that's just glued on there as well.

·