Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I graduated last year and got a 14k white gold college ring. I wore it and reacted to the metal. I thought the ring was shady, so I got it replaced and I was allergic to that ring too. What I don't understand is that I got my 10k white gold high school ring from the same company and I have never had any reaction to it. To my understanding, the lower karat you go, the more of the "other" alloys are put into the ring. I would assume that there would be more nickel, a well known allergent, in my 10k than my 14k ring. I called up the ring company and the woman told me that there would actually be more nickel in the 14k because of the color changing from yellow to white. Is it more difficult to color 14k than 10 and you would really need to put more nickel into a 14k? I just don't want to return the ring again and have a lower quality ring that would actually have more nickel in it.

Any jewelry connoisseur on the board that can help a gal out?

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
it is true...as gold is yellow in nature more nickel would have to be used. to cancel out the yellow.

However...you were right in choosing a a higher karat ring to aviod the allergens...perhaps it is one of the other alloys other than nickel that is giving you a hard time...

I'll look ito my books a little further for you (I work in a pharma lab, but we deal with very similiar complaints with some products that other companies produce. I do however have a strong background in jewlery as I took, and am taking a number of courses from the GIA (Gemology Instiute of Gemolgy))

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it is true...as gold is yellow in nature more nickel would have to be used. to cancel out the yellow.

However...you were right in choosing a a higher karat ring to aviod the allergens...perhaps it is one of the other alloys other than nickel that is giving you a hard time...