Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay, just to give an overview of what I'd like to achieve out of my new system that I will need help putting together. I'd like to get the system to be vocally loud while maintaining a pretty good bass. I don't want distortion if possible, but i don't play my music deafening loud (20 or higher on the bose head unit volume). I've read a few reviews on the site, but haven't been able to make my decision because everyone has their own preferences. I am going to be putting in a 4-channel amp for the door speakers and a mono amp for the sub as well.

I was leaning towards the Polk Audio with the reviews i have read, but i have no knowledge of what is good/not good. I don't even know what amp to get ( i know there is like 40x4, 70x4, 90x4) for 4-channel amps. What I am asking is if someone could help me put together a pretty decent system that doesn't sound like crap but is better than the stock bose system.

any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
what's the budget?brand preference for amps? sub choice?

as for the reviews you've read, you might want to go hear them for yourself. While soundboards may not be the right environment for the speakers, it gives you opportunity to hear them before you make your purchase.

·
Registered
2,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i was looking at around 200 for the amp ( alpine ) and leaving the stock sub for now. so i'll deal with the sub and mono amp at a later time. right now i am focusing on just the door speakers and 4chan amp. i'll dish out another 400 for door speakers if not a little more

i've got a few sound shops by my house, but they don't have setups for me to listen to unfortunately. closest thing i got is Best Buy and they almost never have the speakers i am looking for (mostly low end is what they have)