Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting and I don't know how to start my own thread but I was wondering if anyone can help me out here I have a 2004 mazda 6 v6 sedan with around 112,000 miles. there is two codes that I cannot seem to figure out what is causing them! P1487 and p2227 I see lots of others post about having the same codes with no explanation so I am hoping there is someone out there that can help me. I replaced the egr valve thinking it may fix at least one of the codes and it didn't.

·
Lowspeed
6,280 Posts
Welcome to Mazda6Club! Glad to have you here!

I've moved your post to the 3.0L V6 sub-forum where it will be seen by the largest audience of folks who own the same model so you can get the best help.
3.0L V6 - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum

Starting a new topic is really easy- Once you're on the page listing all the threads/topics for a given sub-forum, at the top of the page is a "New Post" button- click it, add a title and your question, then click submit post- easy peasy! :)

Reactions: Mr.Smoke

·
100% CANUCK
7,600 Posts
@Heatherlove sorry to hear you are having throubles. Lets see if we can pinpoint your issue. First, an explination of the codes you have & possible causes for them.

P1487 - EGR boost sensor solenoid valve circuit malfunction

Possible causes could be a faulty solenoid, a vaccum leak on one of hose attached to it, or faulty wiring within that specific circuit.

P2227 - EGR boost sensor circuit performance problem

Possible causes are basically the same as the above code.

Both of your codes are related to the boost solenoid for the EGR valve. Its located on a small bracket attached to the firewall basically right behind the EGR valve, along with another solenoid or two. I would check all wiring, connections & hoses running to it. There will be a vacuum line running from the EGR valve up to it, so you can identify which one it is.