Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts
X

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Mazda6 (I have a 2005), but I've been working on cars long enough to workaround most situations fairly well. However, today when I went to change the oil it took me a while to get the filter out from the engine compartment! I found it best to remove the engine cover and bring the filter straight up between the power steering hoses and the engine.

Reading oil change writeup on the front page it did mention that you might have to push the exhaust manifold out of the way slightly, but mine will not move at all. I even used my breaker bar as a pry bar to try to get some leverage and it was a no go.'

What is the best way to get the filter to clear the inadequate space between the frame and exhaust manifold? :swearin:
-hype

·
Registered
2,398 Posts
I have not had an issue with my oil filter. It comes off fairly easy. Don't have to move anything. Maybe you can take a picture from down below to show your problem.

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
My exhaust manifold makes it hard, but not impossible to get a filter through. It's usually the metal lip at the edge of the filter that takes a bit of pushing and wiggling to get through.

·
Registered
1,708 Posts
A little trouble here getting the filter past the exhaust, but it makes it without too much trouble. Sounds like your exhaust may be positioned a little differently. I would guess the position isn't absolute but can cary some.

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
as blackmagik said, oil filter supposed to be takin from underneath the car, can be hard to find sometimes but its there, ive never had any issues with fitment, you guys are moving your exhausts? jeeeez. a breaker bar? my god.

mazda wouldnt make a car so you'd hafta rape the exhaust pipe to get the filter out..

http://mazda6tech.com/index.php?option=com...&id=60&Itemid=1