Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to help my grandson w/a problem on his Mazda 6 2.3 NA w/97,000 miles. I've been wrenching for about 35 years, mostly Toyota and VWs, so I'm a NOOB when it comes to Mazdas.

This has been an on-going intermittent problem. Car will just die, sometimes it will restart immediately other times it sits overnight and then it restarts.

I finally got it to happen for me. There is no spark. There originally was a code indicating that the bank 1, sensor 2 O2 was bad. Replaced it, cleared code and car ran good for about 10 miles and it died. Died dead, no warning, no miss and NO CODE! It just stopped. Got the car home and found there was no spark at 1, 2 and 3. Didn't bother checking 4 at that point. Waited about 15 minutes and it restarted. Let it idle and after about 10 minutes it died again. Verified no spark again.

So, it seems to be something associated w/spark. Crank sensor or cam sensor, but why does it restart if I let it sit long enough. I've read that it could be a ground fault on a reference signal to the computer.

The wierd thing it that it seems fine about 10 minutes or so before it dies. So, I was thinking a faulty temp sensor or heat/expansion causing a short.

I have a Haynes on order, but looking to the people on this forum for insite. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
The wierd thing it that it seems fine about 10 minutes or so before it dies. So, I was thinking a faulty temp sensor or heat/expansion causing a short.
I think you nailed it there; its heat related either induced from the engine or the passage of current.

Lets rule out what its isn't.
The engine is still heat soaked after 10 minutes if sitting - i.e. its likely hotter than when it shut off. So - things like:
Coil packs = no
Fuel pump = no
Temp sensor = no
Battery, charging system = no
O2 sensors = no