Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
the CEL came on in my wife's tribute and took it to a new mechanic. Through the discussion i mentioned that we might be looking for a new car in the next year. He asked what i was looking at. I said that i liked the CX-9. He told me to but the ford version... but there in's a ford version. The CX-9 has a 3rd row and the edge coms with that as an option (but I bet it takes up the entire cargo area).

He said that ford does the R&D and mazda buys their info and fiddles with a lot of stuff to the point that only mazda parts will work and charge twice as much. then he said that repair and parts-wise I might as well own a mercedes.

The honda pilot in also a possibility and he said buy anything with the honda name on it. Fine, but I have had some bad experience with honda as well... little gunshy.

he might have a point, but it pissed me off at the time.

·
Registered
59 Posts
He said that ford does the R&D and mazda buys their info and fiddles with a lot of stuff to the point that only mazda parts will work and charge twice as much. then he said that repair and parts-wise I might as well own a mercedes.

[/b]
huh.... he is comparing maintenance cost of a mazda with mercedes.... is he on crack or somthing? I have owned two mazdas.... 99 626 v6 and 04 6s.... sold 626 at 131k.... the only thing i ever did to it beside regular oil changes at every 3k were new tires at 64k.... new brakes at 88k..... front axles at 115k..... owned it for 7 years.... if i had to buy it again i definitely will.

·
Registered
2,405 Posts

[/b]
I don't think you would want to see the maintance costs for Mercedes....

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
He said that the parts for mazda compared to ford are double and that if I had the option to buy the mazda or the ford version... buy the ford. He used the ford ranger/mazda pickup as an example, that the tinkered with mazda parts cost double what the ford counterparts cost.