Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this normal for sixes? I've had people that, when I follow them, they mention my lights aren't as bright as the other cars on the road. My brights are fine, for me anyway. But my low beams, I can barely take it because the other cars lights are so overpowering. It's even worse when it's raining - it's almost too dangerous to drive with my low beams in a heavy rain.

So is this normal? What are my options? Is that what the 3 or $400 HID thing that comes up when I search for this problem is? Any cheaper options? I don't even know the first thing about headlights. That's why I'm posting in the newb section.

·
Premium Member
4,053 Posts
The cheap option is to replace the stock bulbs. I recommend PIAA Extreme White. I've been running on that bulb since 2003 and it's still going. Brighter than stock but for some people, it's still not bright enough.

The more expensive option is to upgrade to HID. You see those upper class cars with the bluish bright headlight? That's HID.

You can browse around in the electrical section to see your options.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
i'll recommend PIAA as well. although i have the spark 8000k's which are they're brightest bulbs they make(according to a piaa rep). they're awesome and actually look like an 8000k HID bulb in color.

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Its just the way the headlights are designed... they're projectors so they don't appear as bright to on coming cars. Even with hids they are bright, but to oncoming cars they still look like bright POINT sources not full sized lights beams like most cars.

I recall a long time ago their was a Consumer's Review or maybe it was Popular Mechanics, and the 6's headlights were rated the worse.

·
Registered
366 Posts