Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
VERY IMPORTANT:
First question is well today I was topping out the car on a dead road of course no one in sight and I got it to 151 which I believe is the top speed governed. Anyways when I starts to get passed 130 I started to hear like a weird winding sound only after 130 though. The sound went away when I put it in neutral though at around 140. Any Idea what it may be?
[/b]
Could that be the rear differential? I've read some posts where people say that the Rear Diff makes a whiney noise, and if it goes away when you put it in neutral that would make sense, at least to me...

Then again I don't know much about cars. =D

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
Damn fuel cutoffs. I think the car could easily handle 170, but then again, I'm not an automotive engineer.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Damn fuel cutoffs. I think the car could easily handle 170, but then again, I'm not an automotive engineer.
[/b]
Hey you got the black on black too. Very nice. How you love it? Treating you well? How many miles?

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
The Tick Tick Tick.. is your antenna hitting the rear window... =) I had the same thing.. and was wondering WTF that sound was.... mine was like clock-work... at 140ish it would start.. soon as i slowed down a bit.. it stopped...

At first I thought it was a warning telling me I was going... a bit too fast ... heh...

But yeah that tick tick tick is the antenna hitting reat window... you'll probably notice a bit of the black rubber rubbing off on the windshield where it hits...

As for the sound... Mine was completely silent... I took a friend at about 145 several months ago... with windows up... she didn't know it was going 145 till she looked over.... and then started freaking out....

Car is so damn quiet you'd hit 150 and not even know if you weren't paying attention...

·
Registered
940 Posts