Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This morning I met with a Mazda factory technical rep in Sacramento, CA along with the service manager at the dealership where I purchased the car. The meeting with the factory rep was possible as I had complained to Mazda USA a few times. Our meeting concerned the Recall Campaign and the change in engine performance post flash.

The meeting was courteous and we had an open exchange of information. I explained the difference in engine performance post flash and expressed my dismay at no longer feeling the excellent low rpm torque after the flash. They took my car for a test drive and upon their return we talked some more. Although the engine is now performing flawlessly at high rpm and I have no longer experienced the power loss issue, I told them that I strongly desired the feeling of the impressive low end torque the engine exhibited pre-flash.

The Mazda Technical Rep said that it is a known issue to them and they have had several complaints from other owners, especially in California. He told me that they are reviewing all the complaints and are working to address the issue by trying to bring back the high low-end torque of this engine whilst negating the power loss issue. He said that because of the recall process and federal government regulations, it will take them some time to issue a new recall with a new software map.

I am hopeful that Mazda engineers will develop a new software map that will extract the excellent perfomance potential of this engine.

·
Registered
651 Posts
Thanks for taking the time to do that. That is exactly what I want. I have reported this to them as well. I don't want to have to tune with aftermarket companies until I am out of warranty. Plus we shouldn't have to pay to tune it with someone else and I don't plan on modding anymore for a while. Mazda needs to get this right.

·
Registered
60 Posts