Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to turbos and have been reading a lot about the EBCs that people are starting to install. With our particular cars, whats the advantage/disadvantage of an MBC, aside from not having the controls at your fingertips?

·
Registered
206 Posts
with electronics comes more hassles and complications...when they break it's a lot more expensive and time consuming than manual stuff, as well as being harder to tune. the mbc is also easier to install. i bought an ebc but then decided to go with the mbc after doing research.

·
Registered
127 Posts
It really all depends on what YOU want. Ofcourse EBC will have the looks, the technology, and the style. MBC is simple, small and hides under the hood. With an EBC, it will control boost spike, as it is an electronic pulsating valve that constantly adjusts. Manual just sits at what the settled down boost will be, and the spikes will be higher. You can have multiple settings, and adjust boost with ease with an EBC. Once you dial in boost with an MBC, its set until you adjust it. And like tenshiko said, with electronics, they are more expensive to fix.

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Do boost controllers even work with our turbo setup?
[/b]
I assume you were away from the forum for a while then.

There are number of members got boost controller in their cars and running really good lately. So, yes it works. Hope this is the answer you are after.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
Mbc and Ebc are fine and everything but I'm waiting for them to come out with a Pbc (psychic boost controller) where they implant a chip into your brain and when you want more boost you "will" it to do so

:sarc: - Go Boost Go!

EDIT: Speeeling

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #8