Mazda 6 Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I've taken some flack here for what has been seen as my less than stellar opinion of this car, read on and get where I'm coming from.

I think I need to fill in a bit on my background first, 47 years old, cars as a noodle around hobby since I was 13. (I was rebuilding Turbo 400’s and Pontiac V8's by age 14-15.)

Had MANY classic muscle cars, sleepers, sports cars, turbo pocket rockets ect in the last 30 years, anything from a full race 13.5 compression solid lifter roller cammed dual quad tunnel rammed 1970 RAIV-400 Pontiac V8 stuffed in a lightweight 1972 sleeper/stripper Catalina to more recently an LS1 Camaro SS & my low 10 second Talon which I still own. I've been working on the Talon for 13 years now as a hobby. I do ALL my own work, porting, mods, rebuilding.

Been there, seen darn near all of it in the last 35 years.
I live only 10 minutes away from the drag strip, so I’ve seen A LOT of cars run in 35 years down the ¼, also Elkhart Lake road course, Slinger Speedway, the late Hales Corners Speedway…I’ve seen/been in a bit of it all and then some.

As a precursor to my “stand” on the MS6:

Most all cars have issues, face it. Be honest, realistic. Just a few off the top of my head:
Nylon timing gear teeth on the old 1960-70’s Pontiac V8’s …very dumb, teeth in the oil pan plugging the oil pickup = motor death.

The new & mighty Z06 Vette likes to split rear ends, bone stock. mind you.

The Ford GT, a semi exotic car with more issues than one would’ve ever expected.

The new GT500 Mustang, it runs like it has 80 HP less than it is putting out, to say nothing of its obscene price. Lead sled?

The LS1 and its piston slap, F body warped rotors, LT1 optispark. Pitiful power window motors.

LS2 and its sensitivity to high air inlet temps rolling off major power in summer heat.