Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, after two weeks and 750 miles on the car, here are my impressions of my Mazda6 s with a five speed.

Power and Drive Train – I really like the smooth feel of the shifter, its got a good short throw that’s quick. The clutch while smooth in its pickup, is rather long, I feel like it takes a while to shift because of the clutch travel, is there a way to fix this? Good power in 2nd and 3rd gear, I feel like I really have to rev the car in first to get it going, while that doesn’t bother me I’m trying to find a good way to launch without scaring those in the car with me. I realize first gear is really to get you going and in most cars it max’s out at ~30-35 mph, I guess I was just expecting to be able to blast out in first. I’m pretty new to manual tranny’s so some of my comments maybe off or obvious to those with more experience. I’d also like to see a dyno of the power curve to understand better the power dynamics. Steering is tight and precise, I feel like I have good control of the car even it aggressive turns. Braking is smooth and linear, I have tested the stopping power and this car can really haul it self down to a halt quickly. The ride of the car on rough roads can be a little bumpy but not bothersome….I guess that’s the price you pay for the control and performance.

Build Quality – Great, doors still have a solid thud, no rattles or squeaks I can hear.

Exterior – I like the car more and more each day. I’m still really wanting the sports grille, and while I was on the fence about the spoiler I want that as well. I can decide what to do about wheels, I want 17inch but I want to keep it looking somewhat conservative. Tint is a must for the darker colored cars. The Tough Guard paint protectant has been good thus far, and a good was is all the car needs to really shine.