Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 208 Posts

·
Registered
4,115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All right, this is my first attempt at a walk - thru, so bear with me. I did miss some photo opportunities during the project, especially during the step underneath the dashboard. However, the Mazda instructions are very complete and I wll do my best to explain the steps.

I bought the kit from Trussville Mazda. The order was placed last Sunday night, and the kit arrived at my apartment on Wednesday. Here's a shot of the main pieces of the kit:

Of course, being OEM parts, the quality of the kit is fantastic. New turn signal stalk, included H1 bulbs, and a heavy-duty wiring harness.

1. Remove the 3 screws from the bottom of the steering column. Squeeze the two plastic halves of the steering column cover and it will pop apart. Unscrew the 2 screws that hold in the turn signal stalk, and unplug the Molex connector that holds it in place, and replace the stalk with the new one. Pop the two halves of the column cover back together, and replace the 3 screws. Very simple step here:

The next 2 steps are the hardest part of the whole install and also the part that I did not photograph, because it was already hard enough working underneath the dash without trying to hold a camera. Here's a description:

2. Remove the driver's side sill plate and fuse box cover. Locate the white 24 pin instrument panel harness directly above the fuses and disconnect the harness. Remove the terminal lock (black plastic latch assembly) from the white harness.