Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob to this forum and a noob to Mazda cars in general. On Saturday I acquired a silver 2003 Mazda 6s. It appears to be fully loaded... leather, sunroof, heated seats, etc. It has the automatic transmission with the manual shift feature (not sure what Mazda calls it).

Because I got such a good deal on the car, I flew to South Carolina to pick it up and I drove it 1,189 miles back to Austin, TX. It was a repossessed car so it's not necessarily in the best condition. It has one dent near the taillight but other than that the body is nice. The headliner is coming down, the center display doesn't always work properly. A new engine was installed a month ago by the people I got it from and my 1,189 mile trip was pretty much it's shake down session. It got me home with no problems at all. I was told that a mechanic check out the car prior to me picking it up. He said the only thing wrong was a piece of rubber probably fell into the exhaust system and you can hear it rattling around inside. You can smell a rubber burning every now & then. The passenger seat only has one bolt so it's not really even holding it down. Several small trim pieces are off... I assume they fit over the front & backs of the seat rails and stuff like that. And the steering wheel is mount way off from center.

A couple of questions. (basic questions but I don't even have an owners manual for the car)

A. I believe the only key I have is the valet key, which appears to be dark gray in color. What does the real key look like & does it have a fob on a keyring or buttons on the key itself? I have a fob on a keyring but it doesn't work even after installing a new battery. Can I purchase a new key from the dealership with out having a code thing that usually comes with new car keys?

B. Does my car have a timing chain or a timing belt?