Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Had a lot of fun driving RF Miata 6MT and Ragtop Miata 6MT + Mazda6T and Mazda3 GT A/T 2.5 FWD at captioned event today. The former cars are nicely tail-happy / rotateable and the 6mt is slick. Both were very nice. I can see why they are so loved. Mazda6T was surprisingly good in curves / serpentine... despite that not being its mission in life. I actually liked Mz6T better than new Mz3 2.5 GT A/T FWD on this course. The latter had mega understeer; mind you tires were wet having just gone over a simulated slick surface. Mz6T not so much, albeit not wet tires. It would rotate a bit. 'Real surprised. Mz6T is a nice car!

Mazda Canada outdid themselves at this event. I was not disappointed to take some considerable time to go!

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Hehe... when I graduated university, some CONSIDERABLE years ago, I (in my final year) bought a Datsun 510 2 dr (Bluebird, for those outside of North America) and I set it up specifically for autoslalom. I had wanted a car that I could slalom with total impunity... no worries re wearing out my car, no worries about wailing on it. Set it up with 1" sway bar (bushed in Delrin) - front, and 3/4" sway bar behind (bushed in rubber). Upgraded rim width - to a wider setup... added sportier shocks, and went to sticky rubber. I learned how to heel and toe / double-clutch...and 'boy was that car tail-happy (mostly on trailing throttle... semi-trailing arm rear suspension, RWD, and not much power out of the 1.6 litre engine - not always the quickest way around a course, I know... but lotsa fun). Taking the two Miata's out... on Saturday - it all came back to me. The adrenaline rush was pretty intense.

And sorry, all of you young bucks out there... I think I was the most aggressive on the track lol... and there were a lot of young guys at that event!

·
Registered
585 Posts