Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

So I am financing my 05 6i. Ive been paying for three years, I have three more years to go. Yes my credit was that bad. Anyway the front bumper, hood, side sills, front doors and rear quarter panels all have taken road and element abuse and its hard if impossible to really bring out the showroom shine anymore Even when I wash and buff it all up. Im thinking of getting it a new paintjob. Now that since Im financing, and I would keep it stock Steel Grey color, would I be allowed to just go to a Maaco or paint shop and get a new paintjob? Or is it not allowed since I dont own the car officially yet? I rather ask here first before I call Maaco and they keep an eye out for me if its not allowed. Thanks to anyone who knows. I really miss the way my car use to shine. Im not even a big fan of taking pics anymore cuz of it.

B

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Ummmm, yeah....about that $399.00 Ambassador job. It virtually always looks like shit. You would probably do just as well painting it with a gallon of Rustoleum and a high density Foam brush.

I have seen good quality Maaco jobs. They came in over $1000.

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
I don't know what you clowns are talking about. The $399 is such a value...they'll even paint your mufflers and windows for free!

In all seriousness, a $400 paint job from Maaco is not something you should do. I've had a $400 paint job done before, but it was on an old car that isn't worth much and is nearing the end of it's life anyway. That paint job was a little bit more high quality than Maaco because it was done at an independent body shop through a guy I trust, but there's still a lot of room for improvement. I'd take my 6 there any time (and I have), but I'd NEVER take my 6 there for a $400 paint job.