Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
710 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm fairly new to this car which I really enjoy as a daily driver. When it comes to working on it, I'm pretty much braindead, lol. I really don't post a lot of questions here since I find the answers most of the time by searching the forum. This place is a library full of information. I couldn't find a clear answer to two of my questions.

1) I was driving from work one day and a 350Z stepped up to me so off we went. I was rolling about 1500 rpms in 2nd gear. I go to downshift to 1st and I hear this sharp knock as if a rock struck my firewall to describe the noise. I do get a thump every now and then driving a bit hard. I've been reading through the threads and from what I understand it's an engine mount issue, correct? I've done my research on aftermarket mounts and there are different ones. So my question is; Which mount should I replace first on a budget that will help my problem? I really hope it's not the Turbo Tech mounts... really pricey.

2) I recently got my car back from the body shop after some a-hole t-boned me. The day I went to go pick it up, it began accelerating funny. It's hard to describe but I'll try my best. It wasn't a hard, rough, bucking or missing type of way. It's more like rhythmic as if someone was pumping the pedal softly to accelerate. This only happens on low rpms as when the turbo's about to spool. It idles fine and doesn't start rough. Same, I read through the threads and people had the similar issues but with different symptoms. I do have a Fujita CAI. I'm going to clean out the filter, clean out my MAF, and check my turbo plumbing for leaks. The weather's been pretty wet and nasty lately. Is there something that I overlooked?

3) Moron question... About when are the spark plugs supposed to be swapped?