Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
firstly, i gotta complain, i really don't think it's fair that the 6i and 6s are in the same category, and I'd feel that way if i had the v6 too. I mean the same car with 60 more hp is a BIG advantage. Yea, i know, it's all about skill etc. bla bla bla, but come on, equal skill and all other things equal, the v6 will stomp the i4 yet they are the same class. RRRRRRRR!! tell me why I'm wrong to complain about this. I am new at it, so feel free to yell at me and my stupidity.

as for the race, it was really fun, and i did better than I hoped, it was an SCCA solo slalom course, dry rough asphault. So obviously I have a 6i, I'm running the stock steelies with the stock 205/50/16 street tires, not ideal, i know. I also have a RB rear sway, which (doh) bumps me in to a much more competitive class. Plus i have the rest of the RB setup i'm putting on, which i may as well since i'm up in that class anyway.
so.... tires. I'm fairly poor, so i know i can't get any real race tires, but does anyone know a decent cheaper tire i could throw on those 16s just for racing? And how wide can i go with those. what do i look for in a tire?

·
Registered
11,748 Posts
Ha I actually thought you were posting it was unfair that the 6i was in the same class because of how much more manuverable it is then the 6s.

The 60 hp advantage is almost non existent due to the weight penalty the 6s takes. In actuality, the 6s only has about 35-40 more whp then a 6i, but weighs nearly 200 lbs heavier, with most of that weight being right on the front nose. (Understeer city)

The big advantage is in torque, but that really only gives the 6s an advantage is the course isn't flat.

Just talk to stretch...he's beaten sti's and evo's on some courses in his 6i MTX. Horsepower is worth nearly jack on autox courses.

In autox the improvements usually go something like this.