Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4,138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well looking at the CP-E FMIC kit, I got to thinking about why it is mounted the other way... then I came across this APS 350Z Turbo kit which is done the same way...

http://www.airpowersystems.com.au/350z/int...intercooler.htm

What do you think of the idealogy behind mounting it this way and why???

·
Registered
252 Posts
Well looking at the CP-E FMIC kit, I got to thinking about why it is mounted the other way... then I came across this APS 350Z Turbo kit which is done the same way...

http://www.airpowersystems.com.au/350z/int...intercooler.htm

What do you think of the idealogy behind mounting it this way and why???
[/b]

Not to sound like an ass Wiggum, I really don't intend to if I do... but I read that page and it appears that they mount it that way for better air flow... air from the intake feeds into the bottom and flows to the top into the cylinders. I'm also a turbo noob for default and don't know if I read that wrong. Seems like a good idea in theory.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Sounds about right.... I sent CP-E an e-mail to see if this is similiar...
[/b]

Keep me posted on what they say. I also beleive that this style mount has a lower psi drop. Not 100% on that.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
I believe what they're saying is that the vertical flow with a horizontally oriented IC (ie. much wider than it is tall) has more paths (across the whole width of the IC) that are all much shorter (flowing along the shortest dimension of the intercooler). More paths with shorter distance means less restriction than fewer paths that are much longer. Sort of like this:

Sideways flow with horizontally oriented IC (top diagram)

As opposed to vertical flow with same orientation (lower diagram)

Each arrow and flow line would represent the inner tubes that the pressurized and heated air flows through inside the IC. The lower flow should experience less pressure drop.