Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm getting some 12" pioneer subs and an amp from a friend for practically free and I was wondering how to install them with the Bose system in a 2005 6s, as I want to replace the blown factory sub.

Let me preface this by saying I have no electronic knowledge at all. I followed a guide and removed the factory head unit to find there there are no RCA cables (not a surprise). I don't want to spend a ton of money on a new head unit and faceplate, so that's not an option.

My questions are as follows: is there an easy way to rig this myself, with little to no knowledge of car electronics (and if there is, can you provide me with specific and detailed instructions)? and if I do bring it to my local car audio store, would it even be possible to hook up my subs and amp to the factory Bose system without replacing the head unit? Price is not a huge consideration, and I was only looking to save a little cash by doing it myself, but if its too complicated I'd rather just have them do it.

Thank you for any help you can offer. It is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your help. I appreciate it very much. I have searched to forums and I now understand to process for tapping into the factory wiring to make the rca cables. What about the remote on cable? is that somehow not needed now? or does that also have to be spliced?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ignore my previous post.

After searching the forums what I plan on doing is this:

1. Run independent power and ground cables for my aftermarket amp. Power to the battery and ground to the spare tire well (obviously).