Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about purchasing a Stage 2 or 3 clutch around Christmas and I was wondering about how hard it was to replace a clutch. I know it is very time consuming, but if I get the proper tools and equipment (i.e - lift) is it possible for us to do it. The most I've done with my car is puting on everything in my sig either by myself or with my friend Sean. What do you all think? Just really time consuming or impossible for me?

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
I woudn't attempt it myself unless you really enjoy this kind of thing and have tons of time to spare. It's worth paying someone else to do it, IMHO

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I really enjoy working on my car. I am in the University of Louisville's Speed School which is an engineering school. I am majoring in mechanical engineering and hope to work in the automotive world once I get out of school. So I guess my question is whether it is just really hard, or just extremely time consuming?

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
QUOTE (Front 1ine @ Oct 21 2008, 11:49 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1463209
Well I really enjoy working on my car. I am in the University of Louisville's Speed School which is an engineering school. I am majoring in mechanical engineering and hope to work in the automotive world once I get out of school. So I guess my question is whether it is just really hard, or just extremely time consuming?[/b]
I've read that the job isn't terribly technically difficult if you have a workshop manual and the correct tools, but like you've read, incidental shit/problems always pop up on a job like this and I haven't read of anyone on this site being glad that they decided to do it themselves......but, hey...if you're up to the challenge, take tons of pics of each step, the tools you use and do a proper, illustrated "how to"...it'll get stickied fo sho!

·
Registered
680 Posts