Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 253 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '14 m6 touring. I use it almost exclusively for commuting to work and nothing more. I unfortunately have a long commute (~40 mins to work, ~45-1 hour return). Since I spend so much time in my car I couldn't stand the stock infotainment system. Garbage screen, garbage nav, garbage voice control. I have non-bose so audio quality is shite too.

In my quest to improve my requirements were to use waze for nav, a feature-rich music player, maintain stock SWC, maintain stock backup cam. Choices are android auto HUs (pioneer, kenwood & some others make some), or a pure android HU. The android auto HUs seem to come with too many compromises for the price, so I was determined to make a pure android HU work. Long story short, I bought a universal double-din android HU, and while it was good the look and certain deal-breaking features made me ditch it (very poor BT call quality). I finally ended up with this one -
11.11 HD 1024*600 Quad Core 1.6GHz Android 4.4 Car PC Audio Video For Mazda 6 Atenza 2013 2014 2015 Auto Radio Navi DVD Stereo-in Car DVD from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group
and couldn't be happier.

Here are some pics of the unboxed unit.


You can see I got an OBDII module to go with it. It works via bluetooth.



Comes with everything else you need here. Tons of harnesses. Every single stock harness can be connected to this unit without modification. However, to connect the stock backup cam, you MUST get a 12V to 6V step-down transformer, as the cam runs on 6V. This did not come with the unit, but I had one already from my previous android HU. CANBUS works out of the box. SWC works without any PAC or other external device. Despite claims from the seller, I CANNOT get the commander knob to work. I am working with the seller to rectify this, as they insist it should be working. However I am not confident it will work. I connected everything correctly as far as I can see.

Anyway, here is a comparison of old unit vs new unit, side by side.


You can see that although it nearly looks stock, the screen is a full 2" larger. The difference is very noticable. Screen quality is excellent. It is "HD" resolution, 1024x600. Even the top of the line pioneer units are only 800x480. Unit takes about 20 seconds to boot up. This may bother some people, but I find that by the time I turn my car on and back out of my parking spot, the unit is fully booted. Also, you can set the unit to stay powered for up to 1 hour after shutdown. So if I turn my car on <1 hr after last shutdown, it will turn on instantly.

Performance is buttery smooth. It has a quad core CPU with 1GB of RAM. The latest specs you can get with one of these as far as android goes. I am almost certain this will run android apps smoother than any of the pioneer/kenwood/etc android auto HUs.


Here it is installed.


Here is poweramp, which is what I use for music


stock backup cam works


example of canbus working. detects when a door is open. it even knows what door it is


torque via BT OBDII


waze


Finally, here is a video of me demonstrating the features I have talked about. It's quick and dirty.
https://youtu.be/LipKLSLY5sc

I hope I have dispelled the myth that pure android HUs are slow, buggy pieces of junk. To me this is better than any other aftermarket HU you can buy for this car. Hopefully I can get the commander knob working soon.

By the way, I've already upgraded the stock speakers to 8" focal IS200s in the front. I have an amp and sub on the way, so I'll see how well it handles premium audio. So far the verdict is still out, but it already sounds better than the stock HU since this puts out 45W per channel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
335 Posts
Damnnnnnn that looks awesome! Might have to indulge.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
118 Posts
That looks really great! How was it working with that company? Ships from China, right? I'm looking at some headlights from them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That looks really great! How was it working with that company? Ships from China, right? I'm looking at some headlights from them.
So-so. They seem to respond when they feel like it. They obviously want your business. They have even tried to help me with the commander knob issue, but after noticing that I have connected everything as they said it should, they seem to have gone silent. Hopefully they get back to me again soon.

Yes it's China. No real recourse if something goes amiss, other than returning the unit and eating the shipping costs yourself. Also, the documentation is terrible, so if you've never installed one of these before you might struggle a bit. But it's not hard to figure out on your own since no cutting or soldering is necessary except for stock backup cam.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
170 Posts
man that looks really cool! I have a pioneer appradio that I was using Appradio Unchained for to essentially turn it into an android headunit, but since getting an "unrootable" phone, Ive lost that function.
I may look into something like this in the future! thanks for posting this!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
This may bother some people, but I find that by the time I turn my car on and back out of my parking spot, the unit is fully booted.
Do you have to wait 20 seconds to use the backup cam?

Big thanks for posting this. I'm also trying to make this car better for long trips. Definitely keep us updated on the commander knob. Hell, it may be worth losing the knob for this price/functionality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Do you have to wait 20 seconds to use the backup cam?

Big thanks for posting this. I'm also trying to make this car better for long trips. Definitely keep us updated on the commander knob. Hell, it may be worth losing the knob for this price/functionality.
no, cam is instant. forgot to note this in my vid. So I turn my car on, back out of my garage & cam turns on, then by the time I'm ready to hit the road the unit has fully booted.

radio also works while booting too, but I never listen to the radio.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
Sounds awesome. What I don't understand about these things, is how they run gps without wifi. Does it pull data through your phone or something?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
You connect a separate GPS antenna. It comes with a magnet, so you can easily mount to a metal surface behind your head unit. That's all you need for GPS. My unit came with offline maps pre-installed for sygic. So I can use sygic for offline nav if I want, meaning I don't need a data connection for nav.

But since I prefer waze, I just use waze instead. I may use sygic in the future if I travel somewhere with a weak data connection or something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
Connected aftermarket amp (ARC AUDIO XDI 805) & sub (Kicker 40TCWS104 10") today.

The only issue I am having is a very high frequency "white noise" that I hear with my pre-outs connected. I did not hear this with the amp outs. It is low enough to where I only hear it w/ no music & at idle. If I'm moving road noise drowns it out. I think this has to do w/ the outputs being unshielded. Despite this the SQ is VERY good now that I added an external amp & sub to drive my aftermarket speakers (8" focal IS200s in the front).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
Connected aftermarket amp (ARC AUDIO XDI 805) & sub (Kicker 40TCWS104 10") today.

The only issue I am having is a very high frequency "white noise" that I hear with my pre-outs connected. I did not hear this with the amp outs. It is low enough to where I only hear it w/ no music & at idle. If I'm moving road noise drowns it out. I think this has to do w/ the outputs being unshielded. Despite this the SQ is VERY good now that I added an external amp & sub to drive my aftermarket speakers (8" focal IS200s in the front).
I'll admit that I am grossly uneducated when it comes to audio systems, so half of what you said here went over my head. I recently replaced the paper 6.5" door speakers on the passenger side with Polk DB651's and notice no difference between them and the stock paper speakers on the other side (if anything, they're quieter). I'm not sure if the stock headunit just doesn't have the output for these or what.

The AliExpress page for this android unit says that it has a "built in amplifier." Do you think that would have enough output to adequately power my 6 speaker setup with 4xDB651's in the doors and 2xDB351's up front? I don't care to add a sub, so I'm hoping that a separate amplifier isn't needed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
I'll admit that I am grossly uneducated when it comes to audio systems, so half of what you said here went over my head. I recently replaced the paper 6.5" door speakers on the passenger side with Polk DB651's and notice no difference between them and the stock paper speakers on the other side (if anything, they're quieter). I'm not sure if the stock headunit just doesn't have the output for these or what.

The AliExpress page for this android unit says that it has a "built in amplifier." Do you think that would have enough output to adequately power my 6 speaker setup with 4xDB651's in the doors and 2xDB351's up front? I don't care to add a sub, so I'm hoping that a separate amplifier isn't needed.
Yes and no. It will sound noticeably better than with the stock HU, because the ali express unit has an internal amp that puts out 45W per channel. The stock HU probably puts out around 20-25W per channel.

You still won't notice the full potential until you add an external amp tho. However I just checked and those speakers are 60W RMS, so honestly you'd be so close to powering them up it's probably not worth the effort to put an external amp unless you decide to later add higher quality speakers down the line.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
Yes and no. It will sound noticeably better than with the stock HU, because the ali express unit has an internal amp that puts out 45W per channel. The stock HU probably puts out around 20-25W per channel.

You still won't notice the full potential until you add an external amp tho. However I just checked and those speakers are 60W RMS, so honestly you'd be so close to powering them up it's probably not worth the effort to put an external amp unless you decide to later add higher quality speakers down the line.
Thanks! So from what I am reading, it sounds like the android HU is essentially outputting what I could expect from the stock HU with this little baby amp that someone had recommended when changing speakers.

The DB351's are rated at 4-35W RMS, so would the 45W output of the android HU be too much for them?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,808 Posts
Wow, gorgeous setup. Nice find, thanks for the writeup! Adding this to my 3rd gen 1 stop shop.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,071 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
561 Posts
It looks like this might be something similar for the 2016. I guess it utilizes the stock tablet-like screen, but gives you an android interface.

Android Navigaiton Interface for 2015 Mazda Axela,ATENZA,CX 5 with Front View / Rear View-in Vehicle GPS from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group
There's a couple of things about this product that make me think it's not for a 2016 M6 (besides that the title is 2015) - despite some of the product descriptions saying it works in a 2016 M6.

AFAIK, there are no 2015 Mazdas with the screen built into the top of the dashboard like the 2016? They're double-DIN in dash units. Second, the product images, while difficult to decipher, don't look like the stock 2016 display screen. The 2016 display screen rests very much in the dash itself.



You can see in the 2016 the bezel (with the start/stop button) wraps up and over the bottom corners of the display, which is not how it is pictured in the HU product images.

I very much want to dump the factory HU in my 2016 - but I'm a little skeptical because this doesn't appear to be the right thing for that model.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
There's a couple of things about this product that make me think it's not for a 2016 M6 (besides that the title is 2015) - despite some of the product descriptions saying it works in a 2016 M6.

AFAIK, there are no 2015 Mazdas with the screen built into the top of the dashboard like the 2016? They're double-DIN in dash units. Second, the product images, while difficult to decipher, don't look like the stock 2016 display screen. The 2016 display screen rests very much in the dash itself.



You can see in the 2016 the bezel (with the start/stop button) wraps up and over the bottom corners of the display, which is not how it is pictured in the HU product images.

I very much want to dump the factory HU in my 2016 - but I'm a little skeptical because this doesn't appear to be the right thing for that model.
if in doubt contact the seller. they will always err on the side of caution, because they don't want to have to deal with someone returning a unit. I had a seller tell me they wouldn't support my car when they could, it would just require some cutting and soldering.
 
1 - 20 of 253 Posts
Top