Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay folks I'm new to this whole forum thing so pls bear with me while I catch on here. So I recently purchased a
2004 6i from a local public auto auction for 1750 bucks, it's got just over 15ok on the odometer, runs great, shifts smooth, and up until about a week ago the heat and a/c worked great... Well thats until I realized the a/c wasn't blowing as cold as it did when I first brought the car home. So I charged the a/c and it worked amazing afterward, as a matter of fact I needed to turn it off after a short while because of how cold it was blowing. So this goes on for I'd say a week, maybe two and boom one morning driving to work it didn't blow cold at all... Only warm and I just don't understand why? what could've happened and so suddenly? Any advice you guys could offer is greatly appreciated! Thanks

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
First check your basics.

• A/C button engaged?
  • A/C MAG clutch fuse.
  • Check to make sure your clutch is engaging/disengaging properly.
  • Is condenser free of debris and dirt? Are the fins okay/damaged?
  • Main cooling fans operational when it's suppose to?
  • Have A/C system leak check and recharge to the proper level. Too much/little charge will make A/C system malfunction.
  • Compressor could be worn out

·
Rally Racer
3,033 Posts
@EJ. Welcome to the forum.

An AC that blows cold when recharged and fades off only to blow cold again when charged is a pretty clear sign of a leak.
I should be serviced by a professional as repetitive releasing of refrigerant into the ATM is not advised.
Overcharging and undercharging are fairly easy and can cause additional damage so unless you want to get a manifold set best leave it to someone who is set up for it.

I believe there is a safety that disengages the compressor when the refrigerant is too low to prevent damage.

Might just be an o-ring and refrigerant top-off that is needed.