Mazda 6 Forums banner

21 - 40 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
I Will buy in a kit.
The US seller has in his web page 2 references:
C922-V6-606 New USB Data Cable set.
TK78-66-9U0C New AUX Module Unit.

for this my question.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
I don't understand your Question, the PART NUMBERS are Clearly listed on Page 1 of this thread.
You Supply the LINK to your US Seller, Yes BOTH PARTS ARE NEEDED, Must be used together you order 1 of each.

You keep saying C922-V6-606 that Part Number DOES NOT EXIST it is C922-V6-605A Cable Set
https://mazda-partsdirect.com/parts/index.cfm?make=Mazda&year=&model=&searchText=C922-V6-605A&action=oePartSearch&siteid=218142

PLUS you must have one of these..
https://mazda-partsdirect.com/parts/index.cfm?make=Mazda&year=&model=&searchText=TK78-66-9U0C&action=oePartSearch&siteid=218142
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Hello guys
Today I already update to 70...335C 4AN from 59..443, following all instructions.
This was a clean installations without tweaks or id7v2 for in the future I will install new hub and cables.
The installation was for 45 min and everything was ok.
Rigth now finally work art pictures of my songs.
My ipod classic of 80gb still not working and I think maybe it hasn't solution because is too old.
Thank you for your excellent support
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #25 (Edited)
Hi ya ALL...
For those in NORTH AMERICA or NA N there is a new Firmware Out.

70.00.352B_update.up

Last now old and outdated was 70.00.335C_update.up
Now NEW 70.00.352B is located in the 335C Folder until I update Server and PDF Later once other Countries and Regions
(like EU N and 4A N) get this later version...then I will update links.

EDIT: CHANGELOG FOR 70.00.352B (NA N)
Here is the small changelog for 352B OVER 335C (see Changelog Full List in Server up to and including .335C).

Personally I believe there are a few more bug fixes than listed by Mazda below...
From AND INCLUDING 70.00.352B and later..
  • [Mazda 6 (US 2018-2019MY) (Mexico 2019-2020MY)] The center display turns to a black screen due to the back light of the display turning off. (Further improved over 335C)
  • [Mazda 6 (US 2018-2020MY)], [CX-5 (US 2019-2020MY)], [CX-9 (US 2019-2020MY)], [MX-5 (US 2019-2020MY) starting with JM1ND******308517 (built after Apr. 11, 2019)] When listening to SiriusXM radio, the sound turns off and the audio source changes to one of the others by itself, and the center display shows an error message such as “Sirius Channel Unavailable” or “Unable to Connect to SiriusXM Radio”.

LINK BELOW to Download


Hash Checksum for NA N 70.00.352B ONLY!!
cmu150_NA_70.00.352B_update
MD5 (128 Bit)
6ED216C6D9E7284CC073800DBCEE7AA3
SHA-1 (160 Bit)
7C0D45CB7016D5AAEAFEC815B06317D826246E9B
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hello,
Im gonna go to dealer to install the kit and firmware update on my 2018 mazda cx-5, but he was telling that Saudi Arabia firmware has only Car play, so after he install everything for me can i do the update 335C myself? Since the post say do not install parts before firmware.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #27
Hello,
Im gonna go to dealer to install the kit and firmware update on my 2018 mazda cx-5, but he was telling that Saudi Arabia firmware has only Car play, so after he install everything for me can i do the update 335C myself? Since the post say do not install parts before firmware.
Hi,
IF the Dealer is a Genuine MAZDA Dealer, then he is incorrect, the 70.00.335C Firmware contains BOTH Android and Carplay....this is the ONLY Firmware file they will or should use, there is no other option for them from MAZDA, UNLESS they 'may be selling installing' a non genuine set up??, I doubt it....
The TWO must have Genuine Mazda Part Numbers are also listed on first page here.
YES 70.00.335C (ADR, 4A N) Firmware Must be installed and run/used for a few minutes FIRST
THEN the TWO NEW Parts Must be installed LAST.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hello - new to the forum and this is my first post. Unfortunately it is one of technical difficulty and not to announce 100% success.

I just performed the update to firmware v 70.00.352B on my 2016 Mazda6 iT and everything seemed to work perfectly. Thanks for the great write-up and wealth of information!

A few days later, my USB hub and cables arrived and I installed them (again thanks for the information! it was a pretty easy install). Although carplay does display, I do not get any audio from anything executed from carplay - audio works with the Mazda Connect interface. I tried two different iPhones with OS 13+ and several USB cables. Also, my backup camera no longer works. i verified all cables were reconnected. Has anyone else had this issue? Any suggestions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I’m a moron. So apparently not having all the cables connected in the back of the head unit will make some features not work. I guess I didn’t have one secured and when I fumbled my fat fingers in the tight space I must have pulled it out. This makes another successful self install! Thanks again for all the info!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,351 Posts
I’m a moron. So apparently not having all the cables connected in the back of the head unit will make some features not work. I guess I didn’t have one secured and when I fumbled my fat fingers in the tight space I must have pulled it out. This makes another successful self install! Thanks again for all the info!
No, you're not. Otherwise, you wouldn't have figured it out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
No, you're not. Otherwise, you wouldn't have figured it out.
Thanks - very kind of you to challenge my self-depreciation!

For anyone who may have an issue in the future, I used the infotainment system diagnostics menu and a wiring diagram i found online to figure it out. The infotainment system reported several open circuits and the wiring diagram showed them all on the same harness. The trim came back off after that and when I saw the disconnected harness, I gave myself a good whack in the forehead while simultaneously smiling ear-to-ear.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,351 Posts
Thanks - very kind of you to challenge my self-depreciation!


.
As a part time instructor, I always tell my students that, "It is better to be stupid for the first 5 seconds of your life than remain stupid for the rest of your life because you didn't ask the question."

Sorry, I'm off topic. Again!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Like to know for car that comes installed with AA/CP how do I upgrade my firmware? Is it the same because the instruction specifically says not to install the hardware until the firmware has been updated but for me the hardware is already in there and working.

Does the new firmware allows touchscreen and video playback during driving? By the way I am currently using firmware 70.00.021 4A N.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
I have MAZ (Generic) in UK :(.
I suppose I have to live with the outdated 51.00.351 version
I have Maps from 2015 as well on my card so never use my Mazda Connect & Nav System in 2020; just as a fancy FM Radio :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
WooHoo! I have a 2017 Mazda 6 and just updated my firmware from 70.100 to 70.352 (higher than 335) I hope that is fine. That is what the link gave me. Your instructions were great. Only people who don't follow your instructions will fail.
My friend is going to help me install the :
1. C922-V6-605A New USB Data Cable set..
2. TK78-66-9U0C New AUX Module Unit.
Since I only had to update just one firmware file, it only took 25 minutes. I came back in 20 minutes to tap the break pedal to ensure the Accessory mode stayed on & it was at 96% already.
My local Mazda dealer wanted $500. to install including parts & labor. $200. for parts & $300. labor. Yeah...…..NO!
I asked Best Buy, they said $100-$150. Local stereo shops ranged from $120. to $250. All of these are for labor if I brought my own parts.
I have a $100.00 gift card for Amazon and found the Cable set & Module for $159.83 & FREE Shipping.
So only $59.95 for me plus labor. hopefully my friend is cheap. LOL

It is also at: shopmazdaparts.com for $148.13

I am pretty sure this is the correct part, But it says:
"Mazda Apple CarPlay and Android Auto Retrofit Kit 0000-8F-Z34, TK78-66-9U0C
As you see the 0000-8F-Z34 does not match the C922-V6-605A. I think the 0000-8F-Z34 is the part number for the KIT. but it is misleading cause it shows the module part #, but not the cable part #.
Can anyone help me verify this Amazon product & the is correct for module & cables?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I have a 2017 Mazda 3 Touring with current firmware of 59.00.441. Can I update directly to the the latest firmware or do I need to do each version at a time. I am hoping to purchase the HUB and install it myself for my wife.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
THANK YOU FOR THE AWESOME INSTRUCTIONS! However, I messed up and installed all the carplay unit first before updating my firmware from 53 to 70. You were right, carplay did not work on firmware 53. Despite your warnings, I stick the usb drive containing the update 70 firmware into the carplay hub unit thingy anyway and attempted to update it with all the carplay wires attached. The carplay worked flawlessly! I basically went from your step 2 to 3 and then lastly 1 and it still worked. I am so happy that i didnt messed up her 2017 MAZDA3. thanks again! So if anyone messed up, there is still hope! But try your best to follow these awesome instructions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
WooHoo! I have a 2017 Mazda 6 and just updated my firmware from 70.100 to 70.352 (higher than 335) I hope that is fine. That is what the link gave me. Your instructions were great. Only people who don't follow your instructions will fail.
My friend is going to help me install the :
1. C922-V6-605A New USB Data Cable set..
2. TK78-66-9U0C New AUX Module Unit.
Since I only had to update just one firmware file, it only took 25 minutes. I came back in 20 minutes to tap the break pedal to ensure the Accessory mode stayed on & it was at 96% already.
My local Mazda dealer wanted $500. to install including parts & labor. $200. for parts & $300. labor. Yeah...…..NO!
I asked Best Buy, they said $100-$150. Local stereo shops ranged from $120. to $250. All of these are for labor if I brought my own parts.
I have a $100.00 gift card for Amazon and found the Cable set & Module for $159.83 & FREE Shipping.
So only $59.95 for me plus labor. hopefully my friend is cheap. LOL

It is also at: shopmazdaparts.com for $148.13

I am pretty sure this is the correct part, But it says:
"Mazda Apple CarPlay and Android Auto Retrofit Kit 0000-8F-Z34, TK78-66-9U0C
As you see the 0000-8F-Z34 does not match the C922-V6-605A. I think the 0000-8F-Z34 is the part number for the KIT. but it is misleading cause it shows the module part #, but not the cable part #.
Can anyone help me verify this Amazon product & the is correct for module & cables?
I bought same one from amazon and it worked fine for me. I even messed up on installation and firmware updates and carplay still worked without issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Yes
I have a 2017 Mazda 3 Touring with current firmware of 59.00.441. Can I update directly to the the latest firmware or do I need to do each version at a time. I am hoping to purchase the HUB and install it myself for my wife.
[/QUOT
I have a 2017 Mazda 3 Touring with current firmware of 59.00.441. Can I update directly to the the latest firmware or do I need to do each version at a time. I am hoping to purchase the HUB and install it myself for my wife.
i did and it worked great. Awesome instructions. Love the carplay. Very responsive. No issues so far
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
I don't think the new firmware allows touchscreen use while driving but I did the CarPlay install myself per the instructions in this thread and my touchscreen does work while driving ('16 Touring). I had executed the touchscreen-lock-while-driving defeat that I found on the forum (I can probably track it down) a few months before installing CarPlay and it seems like that carried over, even with the new firmware. Has this worked for anyone else?

Like to know for car that comes installed with AA/CP how do I upgrade my firmware? Is it the same because the instruction specifically says not to install the hardware until the firmware has been updated but for me the hardware is already in there and working.

Does the new firmware allows touchscreen and video playback during driving? By the way I am currently using firmware 70.00.021 4A N.
 
21 - 40 of 80 Posts
Top