Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any aftermarket options to secure your fuel cap to the fuel door instead of just letting it hang against the side of the car?

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
On my MS6 I put the cord around the latch of fuel door so the cap doesn't rest against the car. Got that idea from one of the members here.

·
Registered
5,328 Posts
I've been lookin' myself, but have found nada. I'm thinkin' of just taking the chord off and chance losing the cap.

Let me know if you find something.

·
Registered
2,080 Posts
My speed6 has a place to store my gas cap. The little latch that is protruding from the door will fit just fine into where the threads for the gas cap are. Ive been doing that for a few years now with both of my Mazda6's i've owned, without issue.

·
Registered
4,115 Posts
My speed6 has a place to store my gas cap. The little latch that is protruding from the door will fit just fine into where the threads for the gas cap are. Ive been doing that for a few years now with both of my Mazda6's i've owned, without issue.
[/b]

+1. It kinda snaps into place.

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
[/b]
I'm going to have to experiment with this one. I can't picture what exactly how to do that right now.

·
Registered
5,328 Posts
I'm going to have to experiment with this one. I can't picture what exactly how to do that right now.
[/b]
Yeah, I'm going to take a look myself, right now.

·
Registered
2,080 Posts
Just take the gas cap and kinda get the metal piece into the gap between the threads and the cap and just turn it a bit until it sits motionless in place. I figured this out the first time I filled up gas in my first Mazda6s, I was standing there thinking wtf! & then I realized that why not try this, and it worked.

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Do you want me to go take a photograph of it?
[/b]