Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wondering if any of the following rims will fit my Mazda6 i Sport (2009). I'm currently running on the stock wheels that appear to be 15" or 16" in diameter. The tires are P205/65R16 94H. Here are some of the rims I'm considering:

Enkei EKM3 (17" x 7.0", 45 offset, 5/114.3 bolt pattern)
Enkei EKM3 (18" x 8.0", 45 offset, 5/112 bolt pattern)
Enkei FLC-01 (17" x 7.0", 40 offset, 5/100 or 5/114.3 bolt patterns)
Enkei FLC-01 (18" x 7.5", 45 offset, 4/100 or 4/114.3 or 5/100 or 5/114.3 bolt patterns)

... I'm new to buying tires/rims so forgive my ignorance, but does anything except the bolt pattern and offset matter? What specs do I need to adhere to and what specs can I ignore?

Also, any ideas/suggestions about what tires I should put on my new rims would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
72 Posts
I'm sorry I just realized your tires are 16" (Sport), not the same as my 17" (Touring).

I would make sure the bolt pattern and offset match so you don't have any issue with handling, and inducing adverse wear, loading or increased stress on other components.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would make sure the bolt pattern and offset match so you don't have any issue with handling, and inducing adverse wear, loading or increased stress on other components.
That is what I'm concerned about. I have yet to find any rims with an offset higher than 45, and I have been told the offset on my stock wheels are anywhere between 55 and 65.

Assuming the correct bolt pattern... how much of an effect on the handling would I feel if I installed rims with a 45 offset? Would the adverse tire wear be significant? What about any extra stress on the arms or joints?

·
Registered
658 Posts
+ impact, sticks out more, (meaning 45 offset will stick out more than 60).
- impact, will recess more (60+).