Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Al right folks this is a very basic DIY. How to change your pads and rotors on 2014+ Mazda6. Full disclaimer: I am not a mechanic and not responsible for you breaking anything including yourself. Ok let's proceed.

Tools you'll need:

Common Sense
PB Blaster
14mm and 17mm sockets and wrenches
C-clamp or other device to reset the caliper
brake pads and rotors.

Use PB blaster on the Caliper Bracket bolts the night before if you plan to replace rotors. Do not drive after you've applied the PB blaster as some will get on the rotor you will be replacing. Once you have installed the new rotor you'll be good.

Start by jacking your car up and removing the wheels. Be sure to support the car correctly. (As suggested by Nihilus: correct support of your vehicle includes using jackstands to support the vehicle as well as chocks to keep it from rolling...be smart about this!)

Tire off and car in the air:

Open up the brake fluid cap and set aside, you may want to put some towels down around the reservoir:

Next we're going to remove the following bolts:

• If you're only doing pads remove the bolts with the red dots (14mm)
  • If you're doing rotors as well loosen the bolts with the green dots (17mm) after you've removed the caliper

Once the caliper is off rest it on something as you do not want to strain the brake line which is connected:

Now you're going to re-expand you brakes, I use a c-clamp and the prior pad. Put the old pad against the cylinder and use the c-clamp to reset brake piston:

If you're doing pads you install the new pads and hardware and put everything back together. It's the same process on the other side. Once you have replaced the pads on both sides put the brake fluid cap back on. The brakes will be quite spongy at first so pump a couple of times prior to moving. Then bed your brakes as called for by your manufacturer.