Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
543 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work in the automotive industry (we supply the car mfr's). Was showing some pics of the yellow 6 to a guy just now and mentioned that I MIGHT want to change the rear lenses to clear, that I think that would look nice with the yellow car as opposed to the red lenses. Of course I'd wanna see a pic of what it'd look like first (anyone wanna Photoshop a Yellow 6 from the rear view??). Anyway, he said that the mfr's can't sell them with anything other than red because of federal regulations, etc. That's why other lens colors aren't even an option to order from Mazda.

So....is it then legal to change the lensese once you own it? Is it just the mfr's that have to abide by the federal rule, but an owner can get them aftermarket with no worries?

Just wondering...

·
Premium Member
2,898 Posts
Reading Topic: different taillight lenses

I am going to say that this will vary by state, however, here in Nebraska the law is that a person has to see red form about 75 feet away. So it's perfectly legal to change the taillights to clear (I am going to do this too..). Mazda parts is going to sell the clear taillights though.. As soon as they get them in stock that is.

·
Registered
6,771 Posts

I think there is a federal law and state laws that require the rear lights to be red colored and reflect red. However, the whole taillight assembly does not have to be red (nissan altima is an example). However, the total clear taillights are illegal.

·
Premium Member
1,776 Posts

You've got some strange laws. Basically the clear tail lights are red. It's just the surrounding reflector that is chrome. Who would be mistaking the rear for the front anyway? How stupid does someone have to be?

·
Registered
262 Posts
Replying to Topic 'different taillight lenses'

Originally posted by Driver6