Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to the forum. I just gave my niece my 1994 Toyota Camry (which still runs like a dream) because she's going to Brigham Young University this January. So, I'm in the market for a new vehicle. I've been researching for two years. I talked to my niece's husband-to-be last week and he told me he drives a Mazda 3. He loves it but wouldn't recommend it for long road trips (which I plan to do this spring). Mazda had never even occurred to me; everyone in my family either drives Camrys or Dodge Rams. Then I started looking at the Mazda 6 and the Mazda 6 Grand Touring and suddenly, everything seemed right with the world! I knew this was "The One," (and I freely admit, I am not a "car person.") However, how would this vehicle do in desert heat or/and on poorly-maintained asphalt or finely-graded dirt roads? I live in Southwestern Utah and it is as hot as Hades in the summer. I would not spend hours in the sun, nor hours driving on dirt roads, but it is a question I have. What are the very best tires I could put on this vehicle for a bit more rugged terrain? And, this is the car I want; I don't want an SUV. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
237 Posts
I live near Phoenix, and commute into PHX for work. I find my 6 (bought used specifically for the purpose) very enjoyable. It has no problem with the heat.

Lots of dirt, gravel, or broken roads is not something I’ve exposed it to. Hopefully someone else will be able to offer experience on that front.

IMO, if you really enjoy the 6, go ahead in your search for one (unless you get all negative input on the dirt & gravel topic?). I had a similar experience as what you describe many years ago with a SAAB. I hadn’t been looking for or at one, but when I test drove one there was no doubt. That was the car for me. It wasn’t as ‘good’ a car as some others in certain refinements at that time, but it just didn’t matter. I loved that car.

·