Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I'm about to decide on a new CAI. I'm a bit of a newb to the mod scene so I want to make a right purchase. I have a 2005 V6 ATX. There are so many choices out there. Went to therpmstore.com and so quite a few intakes. The ones I'm looking into are

1. CPE intake for V6---- The price is def more than other intakes. Gains seem to be much more than other intakes I have seen.

2. Injen CAI--- Price seems right but I have heard about some CEL issues with the intake.

3. Mazdaspeed CAI-- I've heard that this doesnt throw a CEL but the gains are not as good as the CPE intake.

Overall I'm concerned with CEL. I really dont want to deal with the problem and try to fix it. Any sugestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanx........

·
Registered
815 Posts
this topic has been discussed many times before. if you want the best intake out there for the v6, just get the cpe. the injen will cause a CEL at one time or another. the mazdaspeed one will not cause a CEL but the cpe intake it probably the best out there. i say go for the cpe.

·
Registered
542 Posts
save up and go for the CP-E, or buy the INJEN with the mafci fix!

·
Registered
901 Posts
the mazdaspeed one WILL thow a CEL sooner or later just like any other intake. Only reason the cp-e one doesnt is becuase of the mafci box which adjusts the a/f ratio.

·
Registered
64 Posts
In my opinion I would get the Mazdaspeed. I haven't gotten one yet myself, but thats the only one you know will come with a warranty from Mazda and you know they can't give you shit about moding your engine. Everyone says its just the AEM one, but who cares. It has a freaking Mazdaspeed logo on it.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
or you could do as i did and spend under 330 total and have the injen with injen fix ;). yes all my stuff was new not used just FYI.

·
Registered
366 Posts