Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it has begun. Actually, for a week I have been making the fiberglass enclosures for my two subs. There is so much more to do. I will update as I make progress.

Here is the list of what is going to be installed:

elemental Designs eDi 6500 components in the front door
2 x Alpine 10" R subs
Orion 8002 2 channel amp putting out 1600 Watts max to 2 ohms
Custom fiberglass enclosures that fit above the wheel wells
Extendable/retractable amp rack under the rear deck
Knukonceptz wiring
AudioControl LC6i LOC
RAAMat and Ensonite deadener
More to come as funds allow...
Orion 4002 or 3002, not sure yet. They will power the eDi 6500
Distribution block
Big 3 upgrade

This is my very first time working with fiberglass, so I'm actually impressed with what I've done. Let's hope it holds up to the abuse. I did lots of research on making fiberglass sub enclosures. There is some good advice out there for those who want to try this. the12volt.com is one that I visited quite a bit. The proper tools will really help a bunch. Wish I had them.

I started out taping the sections I wanted to fiberglass. This was the most painful part of the job as there is no comfortable way to do this and you really need both hands at all times.

I then used Renolds Non-stick foil over the tape to ensure an easy removal of the fiberglass mold. By the way, this stuff is really non-stick. I had a very hard time putting it up cause the tape wouldn't stick to it.

Here is the fiberglass mold. A roller would have helped, but I just tapped at it with my brush to get it to lay flat. Next time I will use cloth instead of mat for this layer. It lays down WAY easier.

I was unable to get all of the tape off. Oh well, it will be there permanently when I'm done! :D