Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Um.. yeah im under the impression that stainless steel ISNT supposed to rust but ive been keeping an eye on my front header here and it appears as if it is rusting.. i have a closeup shot of it here.

http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4516261

now im not an expert or anything but im pretty sure thats rust heh.. what do you suggest?

·
Registered
297 Posts
Damn it!!! not another issue...I'm hoping that this will be resolved quickly...Now I'm gonna have to check mine once I get my car back from the shop...If this turn out to be true, CP-E's reputation is lost (no matter how good their customer service is)...But I'll give Josh and Jordan a chance to give their opinion...

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
im gonna take a wire brush to it tomorrow morning and see if its not just something that stuck to it and is rusting who knows. I havent even had these on that long so far it seems to be the front header only last time i checked the y pipe it was fine. im not sure about the rear header because its hard to see.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I know dude everything i seem to buy goes to crap lol.. First the cats die then i get the y pipe from kooks and it rattles horribly. Im getting cat efficiency cel's and now the rusting.. what the hell else is gonna happen. And to top it off 3 ignition coils went bad on my car a few weeks ago that had to be replaced and the car had 33,000 miles at the time. im just not very happy with wuts going on :\

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
shouldnt have to coat them to avoid the rust (atleast this early) i have friends that have had headers on their car without being coated that havent rusted and theyve had their headers on alot longer than i have.

·
Registered
2,914 Posts
My headers have been on for over a year and living in NE Ohio, I don't have any rust to date.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts